Repeat and Pete

repeat

I recently was at a BBQ and noticed a friend’s necklace. I asked her about it because I was intrigued. She said that she got her mother’s handwriting and sent it into a company to make it into a necklace. My friend’s mother is battling cancer and I thought that was a great idea!

I contacted my stepmother to get her help. See my dad sleeps a lot and it is hard to catch him on the phone. I told her about the handwriting and asked her to get a writing sample so I could get necklaces for me and my sisters. My dad has a nickname for all of us. The oldest is Stella, Mine is Pete, and the youngest is baby girl. She loved the idea and wanted one for herself as well. My dad also calls my stepmom baby girl. I used to not like my nickname because it sounds like a boys name. It wasn’t until I was talking to my mother that I got the meaning behind it. My dad called me that because I always did everything my older sister did. They called me “repeat” but shortened it to “Pete”. After I heard that I was touched. It is somewhat true as well LOL!

I’m so grateful that I saw my friend’s necklace and will be able to have the opportunity to have such memorable keepsake!

#flicker #cancer #humor #godsgrace

Leave a comment